66th Independence Day Celebration

7TH MARCH, 2023

The Municipal Planning Committee of the 66th Independence Anniversary Celebration planned to hold  four (4) meetings but met two(2)  times to plan for the 66th Anniversary which fell on Monday 6th Match,2023.
The Anniversary was celebrated with a match-past at Collins Senior High School Park, Agogo. The program was graced by  the Municipal Chief Executive (Hon. Francis Oti Boateng), the Presiding member (Hon. Frank Gyamfi), Representatives from various Traditional Councils, Heads of Department and Institution, Companies, Teachers, Assembly Members.
The Municipal Chief Executive read the Anniversary Speech on behalf of the President of the Republic of Ghana.
There was clean up exercise held on Sunday, 5th March 2023, by some Staff of Ghana Education Service, Municipal Assembly and some students from Collins Senior High school.
Adequate publicity was made and the necessary information were disseminated to all Stakeholders through all the various channels of communication (Radio Stations, Written letters, Social Media platforms, etc).
As planned and programmed by the Planning Committee, Twenty Seven (27) Basic Schools (both JHS, Primary, from public and private) and Three (3) Senior High Schools, Collins and Oweriman School Cadet and combined with Presbyterian and Collins Senior High School Band, Hair Dressers Association, Dress Makers Association took part in the March-past.
There was a cultural display and a poetry recital by Omanma Cultural & Dance Troupe).
The Match-Past award was grouped into two (2) categories for participatory schools which were S.H.S and Basic School Categories.
The school that emerged first (1st ) in each category were awarded with one set of Jersey, two (2) pair of footballs, the second ( 2nd ) position was also awarded with one  set of Jersey, one (1) football, the third (3) placed school was also awarded with one (1) set of  Jersey but the Basic school awards categories stretched from 1st to 10th position where from 4th position to 10th placed schools were presented with Twenty Five  (25) Exercise Books each. Special award (Fridge) was also presented to the best K.G Teacher in the Municipality.
The Asante Akim North New Patriotic Party Royal ladies wing, also presented a special award to the best BECE candidate students.
There was also awards presented to 1st, 2nd and 3rd placed school after a football match competition between the three (3) Secondary Schools organized by Salt FM in collaboration with the Municipal Assembly held just after the 6th March-parade.
Two students emerged the best BECE student (2021/2022) academic year. They were awarded with some amount of money and hamper courtesy by Asante Akim North NPP Royal ladies Wing.
Mrs. Rita Amankwaa (Presby Basic) was also awarded with a fridge for being the Best K.G Teacher in the Municipality.
After the football match competition, the following schools emerged and was awarded as follows;
Agogo State College emerged 1st and was awarded with one (1) set of jersey, a pair of football and an envelope.
Collins Senior High School also emerged second (2nd) and was awarded one (1) set of Jersey, a football and an envelope.
Oweriman Senior High School came third (3rd) and was awarded with one (1) set of Jersey and an envelope.
1ST. Agogo State College emerged 1st and was awarded with one (1) set of jersey and a pair of footballs.
2nd.Collins Senior High school also emerged second and was awarded with one (1) set of jersey and a football.
3rd. Oweriman Senior High came third and was also with one (1) set of Jersey.
1ST POSITION. APCE Demo ‘’C’’ emerged 1st and was awarded one (1) set of jersey and a pair of footballs.
2nd POSITION. APCE Demo ‘’A’’ also emerged 2nd and was awarded one (1) set of jersey and a football.
3RD POSITION. Rising Stars Int. School also emerged 3rd and was awarded with one (1) set of football jersey
The celebration was executed to perfection as planned by the Planning Committee.

Scroll to Top